AFCONAfricaBlack StarsLatest NewsNational Teams

AFCON 2021: Ghana Open Qualifiers at Home against South Africa in November.

Ghana’s Black Stars will open the 2021 AFCON Qualifiers with a home game at the Babayara stadium against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa

The group stage is set with the qualification of Sao Tome e Principe to the group stages of the qualifiers for the 33rdEdition of the Total Africa Cup of Nations Cameroon 2021 and will face the Black Stars of Ghana, Bafana Bafana of South Africa, and Sudan in Group C.

Sao Tome e Principe earned a historic victory over Mauritius – winning 3-1 in first round of the preliminary stage, and followed it up with a 2-1 victory in the second leg for a 5-2 aggregate.

Sao Tome is ranked 190thin the world and play their home matches at the Estadio Nacional 12 de Julho, which is a 6500 seater venue.

The 48 remaining teams have been divided into 12 groups of four teams each and the top two sides from each group will earn a ticket to the 2021 showpiece in Cameroon.

The Black Stars will kick start the quakifiers with a home game against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa on Friday, 15 November in Kumasi.

The 2021 AFCON qualifiers will then take a nine month break.

When the competition resumes in 2020, Ghana will play back to back matches against Sudan on the week of 4th September and 8 on a home and away basis.

Hosts Cameroon have an automatic spot in the tournament, but will take part to gain competitive match practice – this means Cape Verde, Mozambique and Rwanda will contest the available two spots in Group F.

Of the 54 members countries of CAF, only Eritrea and Somalia did not enter the competition.

Black Stars 2021 AFCON qualifiers:

15 November 2019
Ghana vs South Africa (H)
19 November 2019
Soa Tome e Principe vs Ghana (A)
4 September 2020
Ghana vs Sudan (H)
8 September 2020
Sudan vs Ghana (A)
10 October 2020
South Africa vs Ghana (A)
13 November 2020
Ghana vs Sao Time e Principe (H)

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Chad.
Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan
Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Sao Tome
Group D: DR Congo, Gabon, Angola, The Gambia
Group E: Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Republic, Burundi
Group F: Cameroon (Q), Cape Verde, Mozambique, Rwanda
Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros
Group H: Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana
Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, eSwatini
Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea
Group K: Ivory Coast, Niger, Madagascar, Ethiopia
Group L: Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone, Lesotho

Show More

Chief Seidu Adamu

Chief Seidu Adamu is a Sports Journalist with a desire for Change, change in attitude, and change in how things are done. I am a Father, Philanthropist. Humanitarian and loves life You can contact me for relevant issues on Sports development via Whats App +12405912247. or FaceBook - Seidu Adamu |||Twitter - @Chiefseiduadamu

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please Disable your AdBlocker